Android
How to Know if Someone Restricted You on Facebook Messenger
Do you feel neglected by someone on Facebook Messenger? Here are the signs to know if someone restricted you on Messenger.
By Parth Shah

Quick Tips
You can’t see a person’s activity status or profile picture if you’re restricted on Messenger.
No matter how many messages or calls you give them, they’ll not receive and respond to them. So, it’s safe to assume that you might be restricted.
One sure-shot way is to involve a mutual friend. If they can see the active status and profile picture and can call/message them, you’re definitely restricted.
What Does Restrict Mean on Facebook Messenger?
Before starting, it is wise to understand what Facebook Messenger’s restrict function does . When someone restricts you,
Facebook doesn’t alert them about your incoming messages and calls. The recipient’s phone doesn’t even ring.
Your conversation remains intact, but Messenger hides the chat thread in the Settings menu.
You remain friends on Facebook. But basically, you are sort of operating on DND mode.
Additionally, you can’t see the person’s online status and profile picture if you’re restricted. These are the two major red flags to confirm your restricted status with someone on the platform (more on that later).
How to Know if You Are Restricted on Messenger
Here are the signs to look for when someone restricts you on Messenger. You can combine all the points and confirm your troubled relationship with the person.
Method 1. You Can’t See Their Active Status
When restricted on Facebook Messenger, you can no longer check the person’s last active status on the platform. However, it’s not a foolproof trick as multiple variables are involved.
The person may have turned off their active status on Messenger .
There’s also a feature where a user can hide active status from a particular person .
You can ask your mutual friends to check if they can see the person’s active status. If the status is visible to others, you are restricted, or they are hiding their status from you.
Method 2. The Profile Picture Will be Hidden
If the person has restricted you on Facebook Messenger, you can’t check their profile picture. However, not having an account picture can be a personal choice, so you must dig a little deeper.
So, if you could see a profile picture before and not now, that’s a hint. Moreover, if your common friends can see the profile picture and not you, you are most likely restricted.
Method 3. Lack of Responses
When someone restricts you on Messenger, the app hides your conversation on their mobile apps. You can send as many messages as you want, but Messenger doesn’t notify the person about any of them.
If the person doesn’t reply to your messages for several days, weeks, or months, there can be two possibilities. Either the person is inactive on Messenger, or he/she has restricted you on Facebook Messenger.
Method 4. Check the Delivery Status of Sent Messages
When restricted on Messenger, your messages will never go through. Technically, you can still send messages, but it’s not delivered. Therefore, you’ll see a small blue empty checkmark instead of a filled round tick.
Method 5. The Person Doesn’t Pick the Call
It’s another effective way to check if someone restricted you on Messenger. You can call the person on Messenger, but they won’t pick it up since the calls don’t ring on their phones.
Method 6. Lack Of Activity On Facebook
When someone restricts you on Facebook Messenger, it also affects your Facebook interaction. Unlike blocking on Messenger , you can check out their profile and previous posts.
However, you can’t check new ones unless they’re public or you’re tagged in them. If you notice someone absent from Facebook for a few months, the person may have restricted you.
FAQS
1. How to know if someone restricted you on Messenger without messaging them? Check their active status and profile picture. If you can’t see their status and profile picture, you are most probably restricted.
2. Can you call someone who restricted you on Messenger? Well, you can call them; however, they won’t get the call notification. The call will ring without being picked up. So, technically, you can’t call someone if you’re restricted on Facebook Messenger.
3. Will your message be delivered if you are restricted on Messenger? No, the person will not receive any message you’ve sent. So, if you’re not getting a reply from them, they’re inactive, ignoring you, or have restricted you.
Was this helpful?
Submit Cancel
Thanks for your feedback!
Keep reading


